Share Survey as a Template

About Survey Templates

You can easily share a survey as a template so that colleagues and others can duplicate, customize, and use it as their own. You can also include any reports associated with your survey as part of the template.

If you're working in your personal account, you'll get a URL you can share with whoever you'd like. 

Working in organizations? You can share your template with the entire organization and make it available to all the members.

Share Surveys & Reports as Templates in Personal Accounts

To share a survey from your personal account, all you have to do is:

  1. Go to your survey.
  2. Click share on the side menu.
  3. Click on the share template option and enable it.
  4. You can give the template a name and description.
  5. Select the reports you'd like to include as part of the template.
  6. When you're done, simply copy the URL and share it with whomever you need to.

Share Surveys & Reports as Organization Templates

Sharing survey as templates in organizations works similarly with some added benefits. You can share templates using a URL as described above, but you are also able to share the survey as an organization template with the entire organization without sharing a link.

By sharing a survey as an organization template, organization members will be able to select your survey upon creating a new survey by selecting it under the organization templates category.

To share your survey as an organization template, all you have to do is: 

  1. Go to your survey.
  2. Click share on the side menu.
  3. Click on the share template option and enable it.
  4. You can give the template a name and description.
  5. Select the reports you'd like to include as part of the template.
  6. Finally, enable the organization access.

Stop Sharing your Surveys & Reports as Templates

You can always stop sharing your survey template by disabling the link to your template and therefore those you shared it with will not be able to see it.

Keep in mind that this only works for the URL, so if the person you've shared it with already opened your survey template, it is now part of their survey library and won't be affected by disabling the link.

To disable the link, all you have to do is:

  1. Go to your survey.
  2. Click share on the side menu.
  3. Click on the share template option and disable it.
  4. The link to your survey template is now disabled and those who have it won't be able to use it.

FAQs

  • Reports are linked to surveys, which means that a report cannot be shared as a template without sharing the survey as well. Let says that you have Survey A and Report A, and you would like to use the setup of Report A on a new separate report. You have to share Survey A and Report A as templates like the guide above outline. Use Survey A to create Survey B, which will automatically create Report B. Make your edits in Survey B and they will be visible in Report B.

    Deleting survey questions will break the chart(s) in the report(s) created with the survey template.

Was this article helpful?

4 out of 4 found this helpful