About Anonymous Surveys
Anonymity in surveys is important to raise response rates and allow respondents to be honest in their answers. For a survey project to be anonymous, you shouldn’t be able to trace a respondent’s identity based on the information you have.
Anonymity depends on your survey. Most customer surveys are not anonymous, as you want to be able to react and reach out if you get negative feedback. However, most employee surveys are anonymous since this allows employees to give honest feedback without fear of backlash.
With Enalyzer, you can easily anonymize surveys, while also being able to manage your respondents. You can’t trace individual respondents and sensitive data is removed from the data export. However, you can re-send invitations, send out reminders and reset, delete and/or add new respondents.
Anonymize your Surveys
Once you start collecting responses your survey's anonymity settings cannot be changed. To anonymize your survey, you have to:
- Go to your survey and select settings on the side menu.
- Under anonymity, click on no anonymity and change it to anonymous.
- Your changes will be saved automatically.
Believe it or not, you can still send reminders with anonymous surveys. As long as you've invited your respondents via email or via Digital Post, you're able to send them reminders.
If you upload respondent data into Enalyzer such as first name, last name, and email, you will be able to see this information under your survey responses. For anonymous surveys, this serves for management purposes, for example, if you need to reset Jane Doe, you're able to do so because you can find her name. However, respondents' individual answers, as well as their logs are removed. Furthermore, to protect anonymity, there are limits and restrictions when it comes to filtering responses to make sure that survey administrators are not able to link the respondent to their answers.
You are able to view the individual responses by downloading your response data to Excel, CSV, or SPSS. To ensure anonymity, the first name, last name, email, and invitation time background variables will be removed from the download.